Three Elected to SoHG Board

Bill Geisler, left, Bill Reed, and Rich Schmidt are the newest SoHG Board members

   Ben Geisler of Winter Springs, Fla.; Bill Reed of Des Moines, Iowa; and Richard Schmidt, of Southern Pines, N.C., are the newest members of the SoHG Board. They join Dave Brown, Mike Just, Barbara Kopec, Hamp Munsey, Eddie Breeden, and Bill Ernst. Dave Brown is the SoHG’s current president, taking office this June from Hamp Munsey.

  The three newest board members will serve through May 2018. Geisler said he is focused on helping the SoHG grow the game, both here and abroad. Reed, who founded the Hickory Golf Association, headquartered in Des Moines, has been a long-time advocate for hickory golf and is a former president of the Golf Collectors Society. Schmidt loves the camaraderie that exists between hickory players and hopes to nurture this spirit in all SoHG endeavors and competitions.

   Please welcome them to the Board and feel free to bring them your questions, ideas, and concerns about the SoHG and hickory golf.