Southern 4-Ball Taken by Smarrelli and Rohr

Tony Smarrelli, left, and Jim Rohr, right, were the winners of the 2015 Southern Hickory 4-Ball Championship. Event host Tad Moore holds the trophy.

   From the 2015 Southern Hickory 4-Ball Championship, event host Tad Moore reports:

   The Highland Park golf course had a lot of rain prior to our event. Six inches came down the week before and changed a pretty fast course into a soft one. Twenty-two teams teed it up Friday and record scoring took place. The 64s of Joe Hollerbach and Cliff Martin, and Matt and Ben Hollerbach, were records.  Even with those record scores other teams were right in the hunt. Another 1 1/2 inches of rain fell over Friday night, but by 9 a.m. the course greenkeeping staff had us ready to go. They had teams of workers on the course reworking the bunkers and doing other work.
   On Saturday the Hollerbachs were paired and neither team played well. Jim Rohr and Tony Smarrelli came charging to the front and won the tourney, shooting 66-65 for 131.
   We started a new division for players who totaled 120 years or more. Jim and Tony won that new title as well.
   From the welcome party Thursday night to the cookout after golf on Saturday everyone had a great time.
   Thanks to all participants. I look forward to everyone returning next year. –  Tad


Tad Moore and Walter Bills were the second place Senior Net winners.


Taking second place overall were Matt Hollerbach, left, and Ben Hollerbach, with Tad Moore.


SoHG President Hamp Munsey was honored with the Southern 4-Ball’s Doug Floyd Sportsmanship Award, presented by Ashley Floyd. 

Karl Nagy and Andy Kurnez were the First Place Net champions.