Results of 2017 Mid Pines Hickory Open

Nov. 14, 2017
Southern Pines, N.C.

It was a cold outing, with morning temperatures in the low 30s both Saturday and Sunday. That did not bother North Carolina’s Craig Stroup, whose two-day 156 was good enough for the Open Division title in the Mid Pines Hickory Open, Nov. 11-12. Two back in second place was Mark Hollingsworth of Bluffton, S.C. with 158, followed by Rick Woeckener of Fredericksburg, Va. with 159.

Craig Stroup of Thomasville, N.C., was the winner of the 2017 Mid Pines Hickory Open.

A near-record field of 120 golfers began with shotgun starts both days and, though encouraged to play ready-golf, the rounds came in at near 5 1/2 hours. It was a long day, something organizers will need to look at going forward. Despite the lengthy rounds, Tyler Yancy and his golf staff at Mid Pines organized another first-class event and deserve much credit for treating hickory golfers from around the country to terrific course conditions on one of Southern Pines best Donald Ross courses.

Open Division net winner was Richard Schmidt of Southern Pines, followed by Ted Kopec of Niceville, Fla., and Jason Shaffer of Swartz Creek, Mich.

Otey Crismann III of Rainsville, Ala. was the Senior Division winner with a two-day 157, followed by Kim Mansfield of High Point, N.C. and Hugh Cameron of Corunna, Ont., Canada. The Senior Net winner was Steve Kincaid of Blowing Rock, N.C., followed by Ed Jackson of Ontario, Canada, and Bob Georgiade of Durham, N.C.

Larry Woods of Louisville, Ky., took the Super Senior honors with a two-day 164, followed by Chris Deinlein of Greensboro, N.C. and Michael Shiff of Parkland, Fla. The Super Senior Net winner was Charles Mitchell of Okatie, S.C., followed by Jim Clawson of Charlottesville, Va., and Hamp Munsey of Greensboro, N.C.

The Ladies Division, the Peggy Kirk Bell Division, was won by Barbara Kopec of Niceville, Fla. with 195, followed by Kim Kincaid of Blowing Rock, N.C., and Natalie Wells of Winter Park, Fla. who tied with Sally Shiff of Parkland, Fla. In the Peggy Kirk Bell Net Division, Marci Likens of Winter Springs, Fla. was the winner, followed by Roberta Robbins of Kenmore, Wash., and Kim Kincaid of Kenmore, Wash.

The 2017-18 Championship Series begins with this tournament.

Click here to see the full results.