Mid Pines Champion Cliff Martin Also Takes 2015 CS Medal


The Mid Pines Hickory Open field for 2015

Cliff Martin of Los Angeles, Calif., took the 2015 title in a playoff with Mark Hollingsworth of West End, N.C. Both men turned in a two-day total of 151. The tournament was played Nov. 6-8 in Southern Pines, N.C., on the Mid Pines Golf Course designed by Donald Ross.

“Mark outplayed me down the stretch, birdieing two of the last three holes,” Martin said. “I was really happy with scrambling a few pars out of likely bogies and holding on with a birdie on the first playoff hole.”

Martin also took the overall Society of HIckory Golfers Championship Series title, having played in all five events in 2015.

Andrea Hodel of Southern Pines, N.C., who is no stranger to the Mid Pines golf course, found it to her liking, besting Barbara Kopec of Niceville, Fla, by seven strokes for the Ladies title.

The 2015 Mid Pines event marks the first tournament in the 2015-16 Championship Series of the Society of Hickory Golfers. Society President David Brown thanked the competitors and the golf and hospitality staffs at the Mid Pines Resort for their efforts in hosting the tournament.

Results of the 2015 Mid Pines Hickory Open are listed below.

Full Field Gross Results

Full Field Net Results

Donald Ross Division / Gross Awards (Open)
1st Place – Cliff Martin 74-77=151*
2nd Place – Mark Hollingsworth 78-73=151
3rd Place – Richard Woeckener 80-77=157
4th Place – Stratton Waldt 80-83=163

Julius Boros Division / Net Awards (Open)
1st Place – Frank Flood 71-66=137
2nd Place – Joe Hollerbach 74-72=146
3rd Place – Jason Shaffer 73-74=147
4th Place – Jim Rohr 70-79=149

Skip Alexander Division / Gross (Senior)
1st Place – Tony Smarrelli 73-73=146
2nd Place – Hugh Cameron 77-77=154
3rd Place – David Brown 83-78=161
4th Place – Eddie Wilson 87-78=165

Bobby Jones Division / Net (Senior)

1st Place – Dave Dickman 65-69=134
2nd Place – Bill Wardwell 70-71=141*
3rd Place – Deal Hudson 68-73=141
4th Place – JJ Jackson 66-76=142

Old Tom Morris Division / Gross (Super Senior)
1st Place – Charles Mitchell Jr. 83-85=168
2nd Place – Michael Shiff 89-80=169

Walter Hagen Division / Net (Super Senior)
1st Place – Willie Engleson 75-76=151
2nd Place – David Farrar 76-77=153

Peggy Kirk Bell Divison / Gross
1st Place – Andrea Hodel 94-91=185
2nd Place – Barbara Kopec 98-94=192

Peggy Kirk Bell Divison / Net
1st Place – Roberta Robbins 80-75=155

Best Dressed Golfer Award – Sally Shiff & Jim Rohr

Friday Foursomes
1st Gross – Mark Hollingsworth & Jim Rohr – 77
1st Net – Bill Martin & Frank Flood – 69
2nd Gross –  Richard Payne & Casey Harvey – 82
2nd Net – James Clawson & Ed Ronco

(* denotes a playoff)