Dyna-Moe Cruises to USHO Win


Jeremy Moe, right, the golf professional from Hardscrabble Country Club in Fort Smith, Ark., bettered his first day score of 69 by one to card a 137 for a 13-stroke victory over Rick Woeckener and Mark Hollingsworth.

Moe said he had an “up and down round” but managed to scramble well all day and finally “ran away over the last seven holes.”

“This is a beautiful gem of a Donald Ross course,” he said. “It played long for the Open division, but fair. The greens were great, tricky, but great. You definitely had to read your putts from both sides.”

Moe, who uses Tad Moore OA irons and a Louisville Golf driver also gave a lot of credit to a Chicopee putter made for him by Moore, whose golf shop is in Selma, Ala.

“When you find a niblick and a putter you like,” Moe said, “you can do some great things. That putter is my secret weapon.”

Moe defended his 2013 USHO title won on another Donald Ross layout, the Bay Course at the Seaview Resort in Galloway, N.J. But there was a world of difference in the venues, a least as far as the players were concerned.

Moe may have spoken for the field when he said “The membership, the staff, the pro shop – everyone out here at the Country Club of Asheville made us feel very welcome and right at home. They did a great job.”

No green flies, either.

Woeckener managed to birdie the final hole to pull into a tie with Hollingsworth, then was awarded second place on a scorecard playoff.

In the Open Reserve division, Russell Eaves posted a 64-66 for a victory over Andy Moye at 70-74, and Rick Rechter also at 70-74. Another scorecard playoff gave second to Moye.

In the Senior division, Tony Smarrelli followed his first round 71 with 74, which was more than enough over Jeffrey Blomstedt (80-75) and Dave Brown (74-81). Again a scorecard playoff gave second to Blomstedt.

The Senior net went to Paul Dietz with 63-64, followed by Terry Pemberton (67-64) and Daniel Norstedt (63-69)

The Super Senior title went to Hamp Munsey with 166, in yet another scorecard playoff with Ed Woeckener who also carded a 166. Wayne Aaron was third with 177.

In the Super Senior Reserve, Hugh Menzies posted 124 for the victory, followed by Mike Korstange with 128, and John Green with 146.

Barb Kopec stayed true to the course with a victory in the Ladies division turning in 179, followed in second by Karen Vagley with 197.

Tournament coverage was shared with the community via the local ABC affiliate and in the Asheville Citizen-Times newspaper. Local player Ed Woeckener was interviewed on air. For a look at the newspaper story click here.

We will post official results as they become available. Meanwhile, photos of the scoreboards are below. (Please note that, in the photo gallery, a photo of Open Reserve Champion Russell Eaves was not available.)

Final 2014 Championship Series points will be posted, too, as soon as available.

Open Division


Open Reserve Division


Ladies Division



Senior Division


Super Senior Division