Canada’s Premier Gutty Event Won by Team Western Ontario

The players at the 2015 Charles Blair Macdonald Challenge.

The C. B. Macdonald Challenge was played Saturday and Sunday (Sept. 12-13) at the historic Niagara-on-the-Lake Golf Course in Ontario, Canada.

Despite the rainy weather, rounds were completed with enthusiasm and grit.

Four teams – Team USA, Team Eastern Ontario, Team Western Ontario, and Team International – played 36 holes of match play golf, one day with pre-1900 clubs and one day with post-1900 equipment. Each player played a match against his/her fellow playing partners. One point was awarded for each match won.
After the first day, Team Western Ontario lead with 26.5 points, The International Team had 22 points, the defending champions, Team USA, had 15.5 points and Team Eastern Ontario had 7 points.
Day two was cold and windy, but the rain held off for most of the day. Team USA made a valiant effort to defend their title, but Team Western Ontario held on to win the C. B. Macdonald Challenge with 45.5 points. In second place was the International team with 40.5 points, followed by Team USA at 37 points and Team Eastern Ontario with 19 points.
The victors received gold medals for their win.
The Eastern Canadian Hickory Championship

The Eastern Canadian Hickory Championship is a 54-hole, three-day event played annually at he Niagara-on-the-Lake Golf Course. A two-day, 36-hole division was also available. 

Entrants came from all parts of Ontario as well as seven U.S. states – Ohio, Pennsylvania, Kansas, Kentucky, Virginia, Wisconsin, and Indiana.

Forty-eight hickory enthusiasts played 36 holes of pre-1900 hickory golf and 18 holes of post-1900 golf. 
The weather was wet and cold, and windy, but that did not reduce the enthusiasm of the golfers.
2-Day Results
The Ladies’ division champion was Virginia Sunstrum (Niagara Falls, Ontario).  Gail Julie (Fenwick, Ontario) was the runner up.
In the Super Senior division, Frank Rosenzweig (Pittsburgh, Pa.) scored 182 to win the flight.  Frank Collis (Hamilton, Ontario) followed with a 198 for second place.
Michael Campailla (Mogadore, Ohio) won the Senior division with a 168 total, followed by Al Clark (Stoney Creek) in second place.
Harold Macdonald (Coburg, Ontario) was the Open division champion.
3 -Day Results
Wayne Linton (Guelph, Ontario) won the Super Senior title with a fine 268 total. Bill Stewart (Hamilton, Ontario) was the runner up with a 294 total.
The Senior division was won by Bob McWade (Port Elgin, Ontario) with a 230 total. McWade birdied the last five holes (yes, FIVE BIRDIES in a row for a back nine score of 32) to win the senior title.  Bruce Del Guidice (Toronto, Ontario) followed with a 231 total.
The Open division champion was Tom Johnson (Tallmadge, Ohio) with a 231 total.  Runner up was Jim Wilhelm (Paris, Ontario) with a 234 total.
McWade was declared the overall tournament winner.  His 230 total earned him the coveted Jim McNeil trophy.
The Canadian Gutty Championship
The 2015 Canadian Gutty Championship was played Friday Sept. 11 and Saturday, Sept. 12 at Niagara-on-the-Lake Golf Course, the oldest golf course in North America on its original site.

Thirty-two avid hickory golfers played 36 holes of pre-1900 golf with smooth face irons and long nose woods.
The weather was less than ideal, but that did not decrease the enthusiasm of the golfers.
In the Super Senior division, Wayne Linton (Guelph, Ontario) won with a score of 186. Runner up was Adrian Buis (St. Catharines, Ontario) with a score of 193.
Bob McWade (Port Elgin, Ontario) won the Senior division with a score of 157, followed by Bruce Del Guidice (Toronto, Ontario) with a score of 158.
Tom Johnson (Tallmadge, Ohio) won the Open division with a score of 151.  Jim Wilhelm (Paris, Ontario) was runner up with a 153 total.
Next year’s championships will be played Sept. 9-11. Players and guests from the U.S. are most welcome.  
Take the Charles Blair Macdonald Challenge!
Entry forms can be found at

Entries close May 1, 2016.
For information, contact Paul Dietz at


The victorious Team Western Ontario, the 2015 CB Macdonald Challenge winners.


From left: Bob McWade, ECHC and Canadian Gutty Senior Champion; Wayne Linton, ECHC and Canadian Gutty Super Senior Champion; and Tom Johnson, ECHC and Canadian Gutty Open Champion.


From left: Virginia Sunstrum, ECHC Lady Champion, with event host Paul Dietz; and Michael Campailla, ECHC Senior Champion.


From left: Harold Macdonald, ECHC Open Division Champion, with event host Paul Dietz; and Frank Rosenzweig, ECHC Super Senior Champion.

This photo from Jim Clawson shows the clubhouse at Niagara-on-the-Lake as players prepared for the tournament.

Getting ready to go. Photo shared by Jim Clawson.