Bert Coghill Continues Run at Michiana Hickory Open


Players at the 2015 Michiana Hickory Open at the Warren Golf Course at Notre Dame in South Bend, Ind.

The 4th annual Michiana Hickory Open is in the books and for the fourth straight year Bert Coghill claimed the top prize by shooting a fine 78 on a fair but difficult Notre Dame Golf Course. His name will go on a permanent plaque that hangs in the Warren Golf Course pro shop. 

Nineteen golfers participated, including several who have never played with hickories. Two of them, Pate Brewer and Matt Buckman, claimed the top two Low Net scores in the Open division with a 69 and 77 respectively. Ken Fry, the first golf pro at the Warren Golf Course, claimed the Bronze medal with a 78. 

In the Senior Division, GCS member Tom Irving claimed the Gold medal with a net 67, followed by Bob Caston who claimed the Silver by matching 69 scorecards with the Wyandotte Hickory Organization (WHO) secretary, Ed Ronco, who got the Bronze. 

Bert Coghill also got the Closest to the Pin prize on No. 3. WHO member Joe Bodnar claimed the Longest Putt. 

Jim Jeselnick, the GCS Region Six Director, thanks Gary Wyckoff and Tom Irving for participating in the Trade Show along with Howard Kepschull, a friendly collector from South Bend. He also thanks John Foster, the general manager of the course, along with Greg Helmkamp, the assistant golf professional, who did a great job of welcoming us. 

In addition, Ben Crenshaw and Bill Coore visited Notre Dame as guests for the Texas-Notre Dame football game the following weekend and were able to see the permanent trophy at the course they designed. 

This outing is a joint venture between the Golf Collector’s Society, the Society of Hickory Golfers, and the Wyandotte Hickory Organization.


 Open winner Bert Coghill and tournament organizer Jim Jeselnick.

 Senior winner Tom Irving, who won in a scorecard playoff with Ed Ronco.

 Senior winners Tom Irving (second, left), Ed Ronco, and Bob Caston.

 Low net winners Pate Brewer and Matt Buckman. The two guys are also new-to-hickory players.